Notice of Primary Election

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN: that on Tuesday, August 4th, 2015, the Karuk Tribe will conduct a Primary Election.  Candidate packets will be available at Tribal Administrative offices in Happy Camp, Yreka, and Orleans on Wednesday, April 1st, 2015.


Polling places will be open from 7 AM to 7 PM at the following locations:

     Happy Camp: Multi-Purpose Room (Old Gym), 64236 Second Avenue;
      Yreka: Health Clinic Conference Room, 1519 South Oregon Street; and
      Orleans: Community Center, 39051 Highway 96.


TO BE ELIGIBLE TO VOTEyou must be an enrolled member of the Karuk Tribe, who is eighteen years old, and has registered with the Karuk Voter’s Registration Office (you may register to vote before the election).



Chairperson (Paid Position)                                       TERM: November 2015-November 2019

Secretary/Treasurer (Stipend)                                               TERM: November 2015-November 2019


ABSENTEE BALLOTS: Requests for absentee ballots must be submitted in writing with a current return address and must be received no later than Tuesday, July 21st, 2015.


All requests for absentee ballots must contain the requestor’s signature and the requestor’s identity must be verified by one of the following three methods:

  1. by a notary public; or
  2. by two eligible voters of the Karuk Tribe; or
  3. by providing a copy of a State, Federal, or Tribal ID card with a signature.

It is highly recommended that absentee ballot requests be received by the Voter’s Registration Office in a timely manner for those members who live outside the Aboriginal Territory due to the amount of time it takes for the mail to reach Happy Camp.


Send Absentee Ballot Request to:

Karuk Voters Registration Office

PO Box 815

Happy Camp, CA 96039


CANDIDATES: Candidate packets will be available on Wednesday, April 1st, 2015 at 8:00am. Candidate packets and the $50.00 fee will be due back to the Karuk Election Committee by Tuesday, June 2nd, 2015 at 5pm.


For more information we encourage you to call the Voter’s Registration Office at: (800) 50-KARUK Ext. 2039 or Election Committee Chairperson at (530) 493-1600.



Get in touch

Go to top